Top of page Skip navigation
Cormorant Hotel looking over the Fowey river, Cornwall

Customer Reviews

Receiving and listening to your feedback is extremely important to us. If you would like to post a review about your recent stay or meal in our restaurant please email us at relax@cormoranthotel.co.uk or upload your review directly to Trip Advisor

Entries from our Guest Book:

"Just perfect - service,& staff ( superb), food, housekeeping.  Thanks. Great value. Will recommend!"
Nigel & Alex Williams, 08/07/13

"What a great three days in such a setting. Everything was super, but especially, we shall never forget the staff! All of them"                                   
Pauline & George Mackay, 11/07/13

"This has been the most idyllioc short break we have spent in a very long time. Thank you all for your service and hospitality"                                       
David Shipway, 11/07/13

"Excellent stay, friendly and attentive staff,  wonderful food, great location - brilliant"
D & M Howse, 15/7/13

"Wonderful view,  super food and memorable view from our room"
Debbie & Mark, Shropshire, 21/7/13

"Splendid location,  very comfortable room with breathtaking views, happy and helpful staff - nothing left unanswered - and then the food: perfect, perfect perfect - we must come back"
Mr & Mrs Hamman,  Poole, 24/7/13

"We made a (very) last minute booking and are so glad we did! Thank you for being a lovely and memorable part of our honeymoon"                       
Dave & Annie Walker, Australia, 27/7/13

"What a fantastic stay! food Superb lovely room and staff, really great. See you all again soon I hope."                                                                 
Sandra & Chris Swingler, 12/8/13

"What an experience! All the way from Australia and we were blessed with great weather, awesome location & the best service ever. Thank you Cormorant!"             
Mark & Deb Whelan, 31/8/13

"Lovely place, spectacular location, great food    
Jan & Jeremy Eppel, 31/8/13                                                                                                                

“Outstanding Hotel, Location, Dining & Staff”
Last month we had the pleasure of staying a few days at the Cormorant and were joined for the weekend by a dozen friends from across the South West. All of us thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a quality experience with fine dining exhibited in both the tasting menu and a la carte. The staff could not have been more obliging and professional and the chef's creations were not that far removed from Gidleigh Park where we stayed and dined a week later! (at 3 times the price!) The rooms provided everything we wished for in terms of comfort, cleanliness and unbeatable views of the estuary and, most important silence, serenity and solitude. It was in fact so successful and pleasurable that we are returning for a few days over New Year confident of their consistency. (Oct 2012)

“More like a 5 Star Hotel”
We stayed at the Comorant, it is a beautiful hotel with superb views of the river Fowey and an ideal get away from it all location. We had a superior room with a wonderful walk in power shower. The attention to detail regarding service was exemplary, nothing was too much trouble. The meals in the restaurant were superb, I have never tasted such finely cooked cuisine, all in all I have stayed in more expensive hotels, but would rate this hotel as one of the best we have ever stayed in. We are so impressed with The Comorant that we have booked it for a week next June. (2012)

“Relax in pampered luxury”
Our group of 12 stayed 2 nights while enjoying a coastal walk. Relaxing views of the Fowey River, luxurious rooms, delicious meals, and impeccable service were appreciated by all. (Extract 2012)

“There are not enough superlatives”
A hotel where there are simply not enough superlatives to describe the experience of a stay. All the rooms have been thoroughly modernised, all the windows have been replaced, and balconies have been added to many of the rooms. Staying here is pure comfort and the dining just gets better and better. The staff are marvellously efficient without being overly formal, and the kitchen staff all deserve praise (and medals). Dining here is a joy. Now I suppose next time I want to stay I will not be able to get a room. Oh well, everyone at The Cormorant deserves their success. (Extract 2012)

“Outstanding Cormorant”
My friend and I have been visiting this hotel for over 12 years and have experienced several different evolutions of the hotel along with its very different owners. I decided it was time to write a review to say how brilliant this hotel is, tucked away in Golant it is a bit of a "hidden" gem. The staff are, without exception, courteous and helpful with no task or request being too much trouble. The standard of service is extremely high and nearly faultless and this together with the idyllic setting, make it the perfect getaway to recharge the batteries. The meals, especially the evening A La Carte menu, are ridiculously good and having just spent 2 nights there, I have absolutely no criticism at all. Highly recommended and my friend and I look forward to returning again soon. (2012)

“Restaurant at the Cormorant Golant”
Absolutely superb. I am a vegan and they had prepared a separate menu with choices - which were all utterly delicious. No need to have to have a fruit salad for pudding (there were 3 choices) and I am sure that they would have prepared anything I had requested. The outlook is wonderful - overlooking the river with a log fire and large windows. Beautifully furnished with discreet waiting and service. A very pleasurable experience. (2012)

“Wonderful, Peaceful Place for a Getaway Holiday”
We decided to take a weekend break at the end of February. Cornwall won the prize and we booked the Cormorant after an extensive search on the net for somewhere with some character and a desirable location. We were not disappointed. The site is simply beautiful. With all rooms overlooking the river estuary you could spend a week there just watching the tides rush in and out. The eponymous resident cormorants sit on the buoys in the river and go fishing right in front of you. Through the early morning mist or the afternoon sunshine all you hear is the cry of sea birds mixing with an occasional 'baa' from the sheep in the fields across the river. Bliss. The room we stayed in was wonderful, Open, bright, airy and spacious, the balcony (all rooms have balconies) offered wonderful views. This hotel really is a hidden gem. We pre-booked the dinner on the first evening before we arrived; this yields a fixed price and a discount on the menu prices. The food was very good indeed and the service was extremely friendly and fun. The breakfast was absolutely beyond criticism - everything freshly cooked to order and served hot. The local sausages were exceptional and the ambience relaxing. Perfect. Other guests have accurately commented on the intermittent internet and mobile phone signals - how lovely to be able to spend time away from the non-stop world that imposes itself on us everywhere we go these days. No Signal Boosters here, please! To summarise? Highly, highly recommended. (Extract 2012)

“Superior 2 Night Break”
We should with hindsight have booked directly with the hotel. The accommodation was faultless and throughout our stay all the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite. Thank goodness for a menu which was not overblown or ridiculously ambitious. We dined in the hotel on both nights of our stay and the standards were extremely high. The "full" breakfast was an absolute joy! A terrific example of just how good an English country hotel can be. We really can’t wait to re-visit. (2012)

“Peaceful & Relaxing”
We spent one night here in a superior room. The closest thing to a negative is that the room (and bed) were a little small. However, that didn't stop us having a lovely relaxing break. The owner and all her staff were attentive without being obtrusive. We had dinner in the restaurant that night and I can honestly say that it has been a long time since I have enjoyed a meal so much. The menu was original and seasonal and the food was perfectly cooked and presented. Yum! Breakfast the next morning didn't disappoint. All in all a lovely little hotel with a fabulous restaurant. Can’t wait to go back!! (Extract 2012)

“Wonderful Spot”
We stayed at this hotel in a superior room for one night on our way back home after staying near Land's End for 3 nights. We wished we had been able to stop longer. The staff were extremely attentive - even printing off a route to the Eden Project for us. The food was superb from a limited menu, but the best part of our stay was drinking in the views over the estuary from the bedroom, the dining room and the beautifully furnished lounge. Highly recommended. (2012)

“Sssh - One of Cornwall's Best Hidden Secrets”
We stayed one night at The Cormorant during a recent visit to Cornwall. One night wasn’t sufficient for such a haven of peace and tranquillity, set in the midst of beautiful countryside in this hotel with an almost forgotten elegance and charm all of its own. All staff we encountered were professional, warm and efficient - with a discreet presence as-and-when needed. I got the impression that it is a hotel that may have a lot of repeat guests and possibly generations of families returning as younger members grow and learn to appreciate such a lovely experience. The view captured and captivated me, and quite honestly I would have slept on the floor just to experience the wonderful view from our balcony overlooking the Fowey River. We choose to dine in the dining room rather than take the short journey to Fowey for dinner. Sublime food, wonderful service and still had THAT VIEW!. Breakfast was equally good with the same formal, yet informal ambience. In my opinion, The Cormorant is a destination to unwind, rest, recharge your batteries knowing that you will be well looked after with warm, hospitable service, excellent food in a peaceful, tranquil setting with amazing vistas. We have already decided we will pay a return visit to Cornwall in the future, specifically to stay at The Cormorant Hotel. Next time - will be for at least 3 nights. Pure indulgence of all our senses. I always love to have a "special memory" or memory day on holiday. The Cormorant Hotel is my special memory from this trip. (Exract 2012)

“Gorgeous Views & Great Food”
We stayed for 2 nights in a superior room and used the hotel a base to visit Fowey and the Eden Project. The memory that lingers longest is of the view from our room. It was stunning as the floor to ceiling windows let you see the beautiful estuary below you from any point in the room. To get those views you have to travel upwards and the driveway up to the hotel is very steep, a struggle for our hire car. The room itself was a little on the small side but well equipped with nice touches like fresh milk available in the fridge. The restaurant was superb, locally sourced food, imaginatively prepared with excellent service. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious. We wished we could have stayed for longer. (2012)

“Good Old Fashioned Values & Service...”
A stunning location and warm welcome greeted us after a long journey and we immediately sensed this was a real 'find' in amongst so many average places we have stayed over the years of visiting Cornwall. Every member of staff we engaged with was kind, courteous, and so obviously well trained, and actually appeared to like working and being at the Cormorant, which in itself is a rarity nowadays. We stayed in a superior room for 2 nights, taking dinner on the first night which was creative, well presented and very tasty, as was the delicious classic 'Cornish breakfast' which was enough to last us most of the day. The bedroom was well appointed, albeit a little on the small side, and yes the mattress could have been a bit more supportive for our ageing backs, but this place is mostly about the location and the stunning views of the river, which are difficult to put a value on. The views alone do not make this a special little hotel, it is the return (well to us) of good old fashioned values and service, which makes you feel like a special 'guest', and makes you feel like you are having that relaxing break you promised yourselves. This truly was a 'find' and unselfishly, we will tell others about it because the Cormorant deserves to be well supported and applauded for striving to be what we all want from a hotel, but rarely find these days. (Extract 2012)

“Mid-week Getaway”
We stayed here for 2 nights and were impressed by the staff, the location and the amazing chef who produced 5 star food each night. Having eaten at restaurants worldwide, this chap is up there with the best of them. All of the staff were professional and friendly and it felt like we were staying with friends rather than in an hotel. The 'lounge' area is lovely, spacious and comfortable without being austere. Overall our stay was a real success. Our bed was comfortable, the shower was powerful, the staff were delightful and the food was simply the best that we have had in a provincial hotel. As a treat, it was worth every penny. (Extract 2012)

Thank you!
We have just arrived back in Sydney and wanted to thank you for a most memorable stay at your beautiful hotel. What more can we say other than magical location, great room, fantastic food and wine, and professional attentive staff who went out of their way to make our stay the best experience of our trip. Also we wanted  to make special mention of the wine list - and to apologies for drinking all of the chablis - nowhere else in England, including some really so called top hotels and restaurants in London, could we get half bottles of champagne and such good quality half bottles of white and red wine as well as by the glass which for him was a great treat and meant he could better match the wine with our different food choices. So thank you again and we hope to come back next year! (2012)

Friendships rekindled are so often the most poignant!
And so it was with our return visit to “The Cormorant” after too many years – that said the transformation since our last visit was delightful and it is heartening to know that the hotel is in good hands!!!  We wish to especially thank EVERYONE at the hotel for making our stay so wonderful; you all played your parts so perfectly and that coupled with the tremendous view (which cannot change!!) ensured a magical time was had by us. Rest assured, a return visit in already in the planning!!!!
(Extract 2012)

“The Cormorant Room, Simply The Best!”
We have visited the Cormorant Hotel several times over the years and have our favourite room but this time stayed in the Cormorant room. Like all the others it has the stunning views over the river but this room is bigger and better with a lovely comfortable 5ft 6in bed placed opposite the doors leading onto the balcony. Even in February we were able to sit out there in the sunshine enjoying a cup of tea. The real surprise however was the large bathroom, I am more a shower person (there is a free standing one) but the double ended bath by the picture window was bliss. I enjoyed lazing in there watching the sun rising over the hills and reflecting down the river.The room is light and airy and like the other rooms furnished with the best of new and old. The modern comfy bed with goosedown pillows and duvets and soft cotton, good lights to read by, nice and warm, a tv and minibar. Interesting antique furniture add character and personality. Such a change from the normal bland interior of most hotel rooms. We love coming here as we have busy jobs and it is so easy to pick up the phone and in a short time being able to unwind and destress. It is so peaceful with no 'entertainment' just a pleasant chat with your fellow guests. The food is always very good, venison was the high light of this trip.(Extract 2012)

“A Lovely Two Days”
We have just spent another two lovely days/nights at The Cormorant Hotel, this time in the middle of winter. The landscape was just as lovely, the food just as good and the service just as friendly and efficient. Now we need to visit in the spring to see the beautiful Cornish flowers. We paid a bit extra for the Cormorant room and it was worth it, being quiet and with a very spacious bathroom. We had dinner both nights and it was excellent. A special vegetarian menu was produced so that I had different options for the second night. Thank you. (2012)

“What a Spot”
We wanted to stay in this area in February and found the hotels in Fowey very expensive. The Cormorant was able to offer us the three rooms we needed at a competitive price. The hotel is comfortable, immaculate and decorated very sympathetically. The lounge makes great use of the space and windows on the inner side of the building offer a rare view of the vegetation and wildlife living right behind the hotel. The breakfast is superb - everything you could wish for and all delicious. We had one evening meal, which was excellent. Our room and those of our companions were very good. The beds and bedding amongst the most comfortable I've experienced. Tea and coffee and fresh milk in the fridge is a nice touch. We relaxed in the lounge after bracing days out with coffee, drinks and board games. Very therapeutic and I'd love to stay again. (Extract 2012)

"A Romantic Week in February"

We are just back from a wonderful romantic week at the Cormorant. Martin Adams, the excellent chef is back in charge and we had outstanding meals with well trained staff and friendly service. The atmosphere is warm but never obtrusive so we were able to relax when not out walking or horse-riding. The room had such a superb view that it was very tempting to stay there all day. Bed breakfast and evening meal works out as very good value and being able to enjoy coffee in front of the log fire in the lounge before going to our room was a perfect end to the day. We had sunshine while most of the rest of England was experiencing snow which was an unexpected bonus.(2012)

"Perfect for a Special Occassion"
My partner booked us in for Valentines last year and it was just perfect. Gorgeous rooms, beautiful views plus the food and service was spot on. If you like walking there are also some great walks around.(Extract 2012)

'Fantastic Hotel'
Fantastic hotel, great position, food awesome and all staff very friendly & helpful. Mr & Mrs Noble (2012)

"Lovely Hotel"
We only stayed the one night B&B, but wished we could have stayed longer! The views are spectactular. A group of us stayed and we all said how much we liked our rooms. Little touches like fresh milk was very welcome. The shower was a bit too complicated for my liking but the overall stay was fabulous. Breakfast was also very enjoyable. I really hope we go back again. Many thanks (2011)

'Every Window Looks the Right Way'
A supreme position on the side of a wooded hill with the magical Fowey River curling past below. Oyster catchers swoop low across the water. Sheep bleat in the fields. Sail boats tug on their moorings. The hotel is just one room deep so every window looks the right way, but a recent renovation has added small balconies tomost of the bedrooms. So doze in the sun and listen to the sound of the river...' Alastair Sawday